• December Member Spotlight-2020 Annual Awardees

    • Share:
    December Member Spotlight:
    2020 Chamber of Commerce Annual Awardees
    The Small Business of the Year is awarded to Rose Style Shoppe and owner Ronda Goetz. Rose Style Shoppe has been serving generations of women since opening in 1932, by helping them discover their own unique style. The chamber is proud to recognize Ronda for her dedication to creating personal experiences for each client of the shop and for being a positive influence on other small business owners in our community.  
    Volunteer of the Year is being presented to Tawnya Rockwell for her support of the chamber’s projects and initiatives. Tawnya serves on the Banana Split Celebration planning committee, ambassador committee, and assists with the annual Golf Classic. In addition, she volunteers with other organizations and endeavors throughout the community with energy, enthusiasm, and pride.
    Nonprofit of the Year award is presented to Latrobe Parks and Recreation for their work bolstering the development of culture and service to the community. This award recognizes director Craig Shevchik, the staff, board, and volunteers that plan programs, coach, and maintain the recreational facilities enjoyed by Latrobeans of all ages. Especially notable is the efforts to solicit grants and other funding sources that allow for continued rehabilitation, upgrading, and enhancement of our community parks.
    The Community Service award for this year honors Dean Miller for his selfless contribution of time, talents, and resources to the Latrobe area. For years Dean has been active with the Action For Animals Humane Society, supporting the efforts of the Trooper Iwaniec Foundation and youth sports. During the COVID-19 pandemic, Dean has used his resources as the franchise owner of the Latrobe Dairy Queen to show appreciation to local front-line workers at factories and hospitals with ice cream treats. We are proud to add Dean’s name alongside other recent recipients such as Chuck Anderson, Doc Giffin, and "Ice Cream Joe" Greubel. The award is the chamber’s top honor and recognizes Dean’s accomplishments as a business leader and for his many civic contributions. 
    Leave a Comment
    * Required field